Fed Poly Nekede Deploys Electronic Voting In SUG Elections 


The management of Federal Polytechnic Nekede, Owerri, Imo State has deployed electronic voting in the election of the Student Union Government (SUG) executive. 

 This is the third time the polytechnic is deploying electronic voting in the conduct of polls in the institution.

There was also a zoom platform activated to allow students and stakeholders monitor the progress of the elections during the polls held on Thursday, January 19.

Speaking to newsmen, the Dean of Student Affairs, Dr. Okafo Okeraffia described the elections as seamless and transparent, hailing the consistency of electronic voting in the elections.

 “This is the third time we are voting online. It was seamless and transparent. All contestants kept tab with their performance as the elections progressed.

“I can say that the electronic voting procedure has eliminated incidences of complaints and violence associated with students’ elections.”

In his remarks, the outgoing President of SUG, Valentine Ahaneku, described the election as smart and stress-free.

Gunmen Abduct Fed Poly Nekede Lecturer

Ahaneku said; “It was awesome and less stressful to Nigerian students. The election process was precise and accurate.

“The Student Union Government is very happy with the rector, Michael Arimanwa, an engineer and his management team for being consistent in the deployment of ICT in our elections.”

Similarly, the Vice President-elect, Jennifer Nnabuife described the election as smooth and efficient.

Nnabuife said; “The electronic voting seems to be the best option for all of us. It checks rigging and malpractices as the votes of students really do count. I can describe the election as smooth and fair.

“I thank the rector for introducing electronic balloting in Federal Polytechnic Nekede. I now see why the rector, Engr. Michael Chidiebere Arimanwa is called a smart rector.”

The students numbering almost a thousand voted at the Polytechnic CBT Centre after which results were collated electronically by the ICT Directorate of the polytechnic. 

The result of the election indicates that Okebaram, Stanley C. (Civil Engineering) emerged President while Nnabuife, Jennifer C. (Public Administration) emerged Vice President.

Gunmen Kill APC Chairman, Kidnap 5 Others In Imo

Other officers elected include: Obidiaso, Nwabunike A. (Secretary General), Alo, Ekene C. (Assistant Secretary), Benjamin, Wisdom C. (Director of Finance), Okonta, Chidiebere J. (Assistant Director of Finance), Alumona Precious C. (Treasurer), Edomobi, Giovanni C (Director of Welfare) and Opara, Barnabas C. (Director of Publicity).

Others are Daniel, Precious N. (Director of Health), Ojukwu, Henry J. (Assistant Director of Health), Uchegbu, John U. (Director of Socials), Njoku, Kingsley U. (Director of Health) and Anyanwu, Wisdom W. (Director of Sports).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here