LG Autonomy: Onyeagucha Leads Crusade Against Erring Imo Lawmakers


The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate for Imo East Senatorial District poll, Uche Onyeagocha has canvassed electoral rejection of members of the Imo State House of Assembly who voted against the Bill on Autonomy of Local Government Councils, Judiciary and state legislatures.

Onyeagocha made the call in a statement issued by his media aide, Macdonald Enwere.

The candidate enjoined constituents of the erring lawmakers to ensure they are not reelected during the forthcoming polls.

Onyeagocha asserted that the lawmakers acted in bad faith by voting against the financial autonomy of the three democratic institutions.

He listed the erring lawmakers to include Eddy Obinna (Aboh Mbaise), Samuel Otuibe (Ahiazu Mbaise), Emeka Nduka (Ehime Mbano), Arthur Egwim(Ideato North) , Johnson Duru (Ideato South),Michael Onyemaechi (Ihitte-Uboma), Uche Ogbuagu (Ikeduru) and Chiji Collins(Isiala Mbano).

Others are Ngozi Obiefule (Isu), Uju Onwudiwe (Njaba), Obinna Okwara (Nkwerre), Chyna Iwuanyanwu (Nwangele), Kennedy Ibe (Obowo), Heclus Okoro (Ohaji/Egbema), Chigozie Ogbunikpa (Okigwe), Paul Emeziem (Onuimo), Ekene Nnodimele, (Orsu); Chigozie Nwaneri,

PDP Candidate Hails Taraba Guber Poll As Peaceful

Dominic Ezerioha and Kanayo Onyemachi (Owerri West).

Onyeagocha described their action as disgusting, unacceptable and highly condemnable.

According to him, Imolites were highly bewildered and thoroughly embarrassed for such despicable display of insensitivity by these lawmakers who boldly voted against the financial autonomy of legislature, judiciary and local governments.

He described as unfortunate and ludicrous that the legislators who supposed to be the boldest brand of our representative democracy have turned themselves into proponents of anti-people policies, even against themselves.

The PDP candidate submitted that the lawmakers should be ashamed of themselves for allowing the governor to continue to use them as his string-puppets against the interest of the people.

 Onyeagocha urged the people to ensure that all the lawmakers who are opposed to financial autonomy of the  legislature and the judiciary are voted out in the forthcoming general elections as they do not deserve to represent the people any more.

He however applauded the five PDP members of the House namely Philip Ejiogu, Anyadike Nwosu, Frank Ugboma, Solomon Anukam, Pascal Okolie for defending the yearnings and aspirations of the people by voting for financial autonomy of legislature, judiciary and local governments


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here